Israel > Basic Law: Jerusalem, Capital of Israel

    { Adopted on: 30 July 1980 }
    { ICL Document Status: 30 July 1980 }


Section 1  Jerusalem, Capital of Israel

Jerusalem, complete and united, is the capital of Israel.

Section 2 Seat of the President, the Knesset, the Government and the Supreme Court

Jerusalem is the seat of the President of the State, the Knesset, the Government and the Supreme Court.

Section 3  Protection of Holy Places

The Holy Places shall be protected from desecration and any other violation and from anything likely to violate the freedom of access of the members of the different religions to the places sacred to them or their feelings towards those places.

Section 4  Development of Jerusalem

(a) The Government shall provide for the development and prosperity of Jerusalem and the well-being of its inhabitants by allocating special funds, including a special annual grant to the Municipality of Jerusalem (Capital City Grant) with the approval of the Finance Committee of the Knesset.
(b) Jerusalem shall be given special priority in the activities of the authorities of the State so as to further its development in economic and other matters.
(c) The Government shall set up a special body or special bodies for the implementation of this section.

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 27.6.2020 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.