Constitutional Background

The current Republic of Serbia and its constitution are the result of multiple stages of separation from the Former Yugoslavia.

History and News

  • Feb 2008: The Parliament of Kosovo declares independence.
  • 28/29 Oct 2006: New Constitution adopted by referendum.
  • 5 June 2006: National Assembly declares Republic of Serbia to be the legal successor of the State Union of Serbia and Montenegro.
  • 21 May 2006: Montenegro's referendum for independence succeeds.
  • 2003: State Union of Serbia and Montenegro as mere federation.
  • 5 Oct 2000: Fall of Milosevic.
  • 21 Dec 1995: Dayton Peace Agreement finalized.
  • March 1992: Bosnian War begins.
  • 1992: Serbia and Montenegro found a Federal Republic of Yugoslavia as a successor to Former Yugoslavia.
  • 1990: Multiparty democracy.
  • 1989: Secession of Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Macedonia from Former Yugoslavia.
  • 1980: Death of Tito.
  • 7 March 1945: A provisional Democractic Federal Yugoslavia is declared by Josip Broz Tito in Belgrade. The country is first renamed Federal People's Republic of Yugoslavia and later Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (a.k.a. Former Yugoslavia).

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 11.2.2022 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.