Constitutional Background

The Constitution of the Republic of Cyprus has been in force for 61 years and it has been amended 15 times and 24 Articles of the 199 were modified since 1960. The 15th Amendment concerned Article 146 and came into effect on September 16th 2020.

The island is split by a UN-controlled "green line" into a southern Greek part and a northern Turkish part. The "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus" is recognized only by Turkey, with Greek-Cypriots claiming their property back. Greek-Cypriots were trying to promote EU-integration by 2000. However, Turkish-Cypriots worried about minority status in a possible loose federation. Finally, in 2004 Cyprus became a member of the European Union.

History and News

  • 2020: 15th Constitutional Amendment (Art. 146).
  • 1 May 2004: Cyprus becomes a member of the European Union.
  • 3 July 1990: Cyprus files its EC-membership application. 
  • 5 May 1985: New constitution adopted by referendum for the Turkish part.
  • 15 Nov 1983: Turkish Cypriot Rauf Denktash declares independence of a (renamed) "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus" (TRNC); national holiday in the Turkish part; TRNC is not recognized by any state except Turkey.
  • 13 February 1975: Turkish Cypriot area proclaims self-rule from Republic of Cyprus and creates their own constitution.
  • June 1974: After Turkish invasion, the island is divided.
  • 1963: Outbreak of disagreements between the two ethnic communities.
  • 16 Aug 1960: Independence from the United Kingdom; constitution is signed, among others, by the First Governor of the Colony of Cyprus, Sir Hugh Foot, the Consul-General of Greece, George Christopoulos, his Turkish counterpart, Turel; negotiations to create a revised constitution to improve relations between Greek and Turkish Cypriots are blocked.
  • 19 February 1959: London Agreement provides for a Joint Constitutional Commission to draft the constitution.

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 1.7.2022 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.