Constitutional Background

The Constitution provides for a 454-member unicameral legislature (People's Assembly), elected by universal suffrage for a five year term, with 10 deputies appointed directly by the President. The People's Assembly nominates the President who is confirmed by popular referendum for a six-year renewable term. The Council of Ministers is appointed by the President.

The Constitution acknowledges Islamic Jurisprudence as a source of legislation. The 210-member Shura-Council has advisory functions; 140 of its members are elected popularly, 70 are appointed by the President.

History and News

  • 5 Aug 1996: Egypt's highest court declares that Cairo University professor Nasr Abu Zeid could no longer be married to his wife because he was an apostate from Islam. His 12 books are banned.
  • 29 June 1995: Mubarak challenges Sudan's governing NIF (National Isliamic Front) and their leader Hassan at-Turabi for organizing his assassination by supporting egyptian fundamentalist Mustafa Hamza.
  • 26 June 1995: President Hosni Mubarak survives an assassination attempt while driving to the OAU summit in Ethiopia.
  • 8 May 1991: Emergency Laws extended until 31 May 1994 because of the invasion of Kuwait by Iraq.
  • Oct 1981: Emergency Laws give the government extended powers of arrest and detention.
  • 1981: President Anwar Sadat dies in an assassination.
  • 1978: Egypt makes peace with Israel.

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 11.2.2022 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.