Constitutional Background

The former (Jan 1996) government under Prime Minister Begum Khaleda Zia acknowledged its obligation to resign before electoral campaigning. It transfered executive power to the President Abdur Rahman Biswas.

Political Parties: The main contest is between the Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) of Begum Khaleda Zia and the Awami League of Sheikh Hasina Wazed. There is also the smaller Jatiya Party of the jailed former military ruler, General Hussain Mohammad Ershad.

History and News

  • June 1996: Sheikh Hasina Wazed wins Bangladesh's second nationwide ballot and becomes Prime Minister; the turnout of the supervised elections was above 60%.
  • 21 Feb 1996: Last possible date for elections according to the Constitution which requires that elections are held within 90 days of the dissolution of parliament.
  • 15 Feb 1996: Tentative date for elections after two postponed dates (15 Jan, 7 Feb).

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 11.2.2022 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.