Constitutional Background

Though formally a multi-party democracy, the country has not had any opposition and has been thoroughly controlled by Robert Mugabe whose formerly marxist Zimbabwe African National Union Patriotic Front (Zanu-PF) party dominates parliament. After large scale expropriations, economic crisis, civil war, mass emigration, and international sanctions, a power-sharing government was established with Morgan Tsvangirai (Movement for Democratic Change, MDC) as prime minister in order to return the country to peace and prosperity. However, the opposition is still persecuted by state security forces and fair elections are currently (April 2011) not very likely. The MDC victory in 2008 general elections had similarly been answered with a terror campaign by the Zanu-PF supporters.

History and News

  • 2008: After winning the elections, Tsvangirai enters a power sharing government with Mugabe.
  • March 1996: National Elections confirming Mugabe.
  • 28 Oct 1995: Local Elections.
  • 1980: Robert Mugabe comes to power.
  • 1978: Rhodesia-Zimbabwe Internal Settlement.

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 11.2.2022 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.