Constitutional Background

Tajikistan's Constitution provides for a presidential form of government. The Prime Minister, Ministers, and Supreme Court Judges are all appointed by the President. There is no judicial review of legislative acts. The agreement in 1997 was expected to eventually lead to a new Constitution and to free elections.

History and News

  • June 2003: Constitutional amendment allows President Rakhmonov to stay in office until 2020 (i.e. another two terms after the current one ending in 2006).
  • 2000: The 1997 peace agreement is finally being implemented.
  • 6 Nov 1999: Rakhmonov is re-elected president for another 7 year term.
  • 1997: Government and rebels adopt a four-stage plan to merge forces and share seats in the Commission of National Reconciliation after strong damage to the capital Dushanbe and the kidnapping of UN workers in February.
  • Dec 1996: Rakhmonov and Said Abdullo Nuri, leader of the Islamist guerilla ruling the Pamir mountains of eastern Tajikistan, formally sign a peace agreement in Moscow, but the war goes on for some time.
  • 21 Jan 1996: The mufti of Tajikistan and head of the country's Muslims, Fathkullah Sharifzoda, falls victim to murders.
  • 6 Nov 1994: Constitution adopted; Imamali Rakhmonov becomes President.
  • 19 Nov 1992: Imamali Rakhmonov becomes Supreme Assembly chairman after the ex-communists deposed an alliance of Islamists and secular democrats.
  • 9 Sep 1991: Independence from Soviet Union.

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 11.2.2022 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.