Constitutional Background

The 1987 constitution limits the president to a single six-year term. However, government proposals for an amendment suggest that President Fidel Ramos might seek re-election in 1998.

The Moro National Liberation Front (MNLF) of Nur Misuari is now heading a new Southern Philippines Council for Peace and Develpment which oversees 14 provinces for three years and works towards autonomy for (at least) four Muslim provinces by a plebsicite in 1999 (autonomous Muslim region). Already, 7,000 of the 17,000 MNLF guerrillas have been integrated into the army and police. A violent Christian minority and two breakaway Muslim groups are opposing the deal.

History and News

  • 2 Sep 1996: Appointed date for signing a peace treaty with MNLF. 
  • May 1998: End of term of President Fidel Ramos. He has announced to step down at this time, but then delayed his decision until November 1997.  A second term would require changing the constitution. 
  • 8 Sep 1997: Ramos pledges that the presidential election would not be cancelled, that he would not declare martial law, and that he opposed extending the presidential term.
  • May 1996: The ruling coalition proposes an amendment of the constitution that would allow for re-election of the president. 
  • 1993: A MNLF ceasefire ends civil war. 
  • 1989: In a plebiscite, 4 Mulsim provinces vote for autonomy. 
  • 1986: President Ferdinand Marcos is being deposed in a popular revolution under leaders Corazon Aquino and Cardinal Jaime Sin
  • 1972: Martial law is imposed by President Ferdinand Marcos. 
  • 1970s: More than 70,000 people die in a civil war of the Muslim minority in the South against the Christian majority of the Philippines.

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 11.2.2022 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.