New Zealand

Constitutional Background

New Zealand, like Canda and Israel, has no written constitution in one single document, but rather a number of Basic Laws.  A fundamental law is the Treaty of Waitangi, establishing British sovereignty on 6 Feb 1840 and marking the national holiday; there are continuing differences about the correct translation of the document signed by the indigenous people.

History and News

  • 27 Nov 1999: Labour party wins parliamentary elections resulting in the nomination of Helen Clark for Prime Minister.
  • 1997: Jenny Shipley (National Party) is appointed as New Zealand's first woman Prime Minister without prior elections.
  • 12 Oct 1996: General elections are won by the National Party.
  • 1990: The national government of Jim Bolger (National Party) is elected.
  • 26 Sep 1907: Independence from the United Kingdom.
  • 6 Feb 1840: British sovereignty officially established by the Treaty of Waitangi.

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 11.2.2022 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.